Understanding The Boundaries Of Colorado’s Marijuana Public-Use Law
The entire country is aware that recreational use of marijuana is legal in the state of Colorado, but what does that really mean? It means you better know who really is allowed to smoke pot, where those people are allow to smoke pot and how much can they smoke!
Who Can Buy Marijuana In Colorado?
As of January 1, 2014, people 21 and over are able to purchase marijuana for their personal recreational use so long as they present a valid photo identification issued by the government.
This is the state law, federally it is still illegal; however, per the Cole memorandum, the federal government will not likely get involved.
How Much Marijuana Can You Buy?
Colorado residents are able to purchase up to one ounce of marijuana at once for the purpose of recreational use. Medical marijuana cardholders are able to purchase up to two ounces.
If you are not a Colorado resident you are allowed to purchase a quarter of an ounce at a time.
While people may want to jump from store to store purchasing marijuana, the legal limit to how much a person can possess is one ounce.
Public Use Of Marijuana Is Illegal
You cannot publicly use or even display marijuana in the state of Colorado. What does this really mean? The following are examples of where you cannot smoke pot in Colorado:
- Public streets and sidewalks
- Marijuana stores
- Public transportation
Basically no open use of pot is permitted. Especially on federal land. Remember, Colorado camping and hiking sites may seem secluded, but it is still public space.
Penalties For Public Use Of Marijuana
The state of Colorado considers public use of pot a petty offense, and it carries a fine of $100. Not that bad, but depending on the circumstances, it can also be accompanied by 15 days in jail.
If you are caught for possessing marijuana on federal land, the punishment falls under federal law, and can include a $5,000 fine and up to six months in jail!
Yes, You Can Grow Marijuana In Colorado
Many people ask if they can grow their own marijuana in Colorado, and yes Colorado residents are able to grow their own pot, up to six plants for personal and nonpublic use. However, and it is a big “however,” they are not able to sell the product they grow unless they have a state marijuana seller’s license. Only 136 licenses exist at this time, and all were issued to already existing medical marijuana facilities.
Learn more about growing and selling marijuana in Colorado here.
DO NOT Take Marijuana Outside Of The State Of Colorado
While you may feel a certain sense of freedom within Colorado to have recreation marijuana in your possession, remember that it is not legal outside the state. It does not matter that you obtained the marijuana legally inside Colorado if you are caught with it outside of the state.
Learn more about Marijuana laws.
Contact our experienced Denver marijuana lawyers to schedule a free consultation to discuss your case: .
YOU Deserve 1-on-1 Representation
Please call us at 720-689-0322 or email our team to speak with an attorney. We look forward to speaking with you.