A DUI arrest can be a source of shame and embarrassment and can result in a conviction and very ruinous penalties that can burden you for years to come. In general, convictions for driving under the influence in Denver (and throughout Colorado) will typically involve some combination of the following court-ordered penalties and social repercussions:
- Jail time
- License suspension
- Steep court restitution fines
- Attendance at an alcohol education program
- Community service
- Installation of an ignition lock device on your vehicle
- Significantly increased insurance premiums for years to come
- Lengthy probation terms
- Other fees such as car towing and license reinstatement fees
- Loss of employment and difficulty finding gainful employment in the future
Denver DUI And Drunk Driving Penalties — How Are They Determined?
Denver DUI and drunk driving penalties will vary from case to case depending on several factors, including:
- Whether the accused has DUI convictions and/or a criminal record
- The blood alcohol content (BAC) of the accused at the time of arrest (In cases of BACs greater than .20, the penalties will be significantly more severe.)
- Whether drugs were allegedly found on or with the accused
- Whether anyone else was injured or killed as a result of the incident (read more about DUI accidents resulting in injury)
- Whether significant property damage occurred as a result of the incident
Driver’s License Penalties
In today’s world, driving is a necessity for many adults; upon a DUI arrest, however, driver’s license penalties can significantly impair individuals’ ability to get to and from work and transport their children and generally upset the efficiency of their daily lives.
While the nature of driver’s license penalties associated with DUI conviction will depend on whether a person has prior convictions, the chances of having your license suspended following a DUI arrest are high — even if this is your first such arrest.
Consequently, if you or a loved one has been arrested on suspicion of DUI, please call us to minimize the possible license penalties you’re facing. Our experienced legal professionals:
- Fully understand the nuances of the legal system
- Can deftly work with both courts and the Colorado Department of Revenue
- Can aggressively assert your rights so that you do not face long-term loss of driving privileges
Denver DMV License Hearings
Many facing a first-time DUI arrest may not know that:
- The accused only has seven days from the date of the arrest to request a hearing with the Colorado Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
- This hearing, which is separate from the court case, will determine the length of the license suspension, regardless of the outcome of the court case.
- Without requesting this hearing with the DMV, first-time offenders will automatically have their license suspended for up to one year.
- In cases of multiple DUIs, license suspensions may be significantly longer, or a license revocation may be instated (while a license suspension involves the temporary invalidity of a driver’s license, a revocation completely nullifies the license).
It is important to note that this DMV hearing is separate from the criminal proceedings that will be litigated in court. Without requesting this DUI license hearing and having our skilled Denver DUI defense attorneys on your side, you can face the following possible license penalties:
- 30-day to one-year suspension for first-time offenders
- 180-day to one-year suspension for those facing a second DUI arrest five years or more after the date of their first conviction
- Five-year mandatory license revocation for those facing a second DUI arrest less than five years after their first conviction (for those with more than two convictions, revocation periods can be significantly longer).
While a license suspension refers to the temporary invalidity of a license and requires proof of insurance and payment of fees for reinstatement, a license revocation involves the complete nullification of a license and necessitates retaking both the written and driving exams for reinstatement.
Matters of license suspension in Colorado can be further complicated when the individual charged with DUI has a commercial driver’s license (CDL). Regardless of whether those accused of DUI have a standard license or a CDL, driving is likely a critical component of their daily lives, and protecting their driving privileges can mean saving their jobs and making their lives easier.
License Suspension Terms
The term of a license suspension will depend on whether the accused has prior DUI convictions as well as the type of driver’s license he or she has and the circumstances of the case. While first-time DUI license suspensions can last up to a year (after which proof of insurance must be shown and fees must be paid to the DMV to reinstate the license), in cases of a second DUI for CDLs, multiple felony DUIs or at least three prior DUI convictions, a license may be revoked, possibly for life.
Contact Us For Help With Your DUI Case
At Flesch & Beck Law, our Denver DUI defense lawyers understand the importance of retaining your driving privileges, clearing your name of DUI charges and minimizing the possible penalties of a conviction. We strongly encourage those facing any type of DUI charge to learn more about their legal rights by meeting with our Denver DUI defense attorneys for a FREE, no-obligation evaluation of their case. Contact us today by emailing us or calling (303) 806-8886.