Facing Charges When A DUI Results In Injury
While a DUI arrest itself is tragic for the accused, possibly injuring or killing another individual while allegedly driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol can dramatically compound the gravity of the situation, the resulting charges and the possible penalties upon conviction. When another party is seriously injured as a result of a DUI in Colorado, charges of vehicular assault will likely be filed against the accused; in the event of another party’s death, vehicular homicide charges will be filed.
Colorado DUI Penalties For Vehicular Assault And Vehicular Homicide
While the exact nature of the penalties levied against a person convicted of DUI vehicular assault or DUI vehicular homicide will depend on the facts of the case, as well as whether the accused has a criminal record, in general, the penalties are as follows:
- Vehicular assault associated with a DUI charge is a class 4 felony, which usually comes with a prison sentence of one to 12 years, fines of $2,000 to $5,000 and a mandatory parole term of three years.
- Vehicular homicide associated with a DUI charge is a class 3 felony, which typically comes with a prison sentence of two to 24 years, fines of $3,000 to $7,500 and a mandatory parole term of five years.
Given the severe consequences associated with convictions for causing an injury or death during a DUI — as well as the fact that victims can file civil cases against the accused to seek further compensation, it is imperative that the accused secure the top-of-the-line legal representation offered by the Denver DUI lawyers at Flesch & Beck Law.
For a FREE, no-obligations evaluation of your case, contact our experienced DUI lawyers today by emailing or calling .
YOU Deserve 1-on-1 Representation
Please call us at 720-689-0322 or email our team to speak with an attorney. We look forward to speaking with you.