Rape Laws

According to Colorado law (C.R.S. 18-3-402), forcible rape is defined as the act of coercing another individual into sexual intercourse or sodomy against his or her will. Within this sex crime, the law also defines:

  • Statutory rape as the act of engaging in sexual activity with an individual who is younger than 17 years old while the alleged perpetrator is at least 10 years older than the alleged victim or engaging in sexual activity with a person who is younger than 15 while the alleged perpetrator is at least four years older than the victim
  • Date rape as the act of engaging in sexual activity with a person who is not able to give consent due to intoxication via drugs and/or alcohol

Rape charges are extremely serious and, upon conviction, can result in:

  • Indeterminate prison sentences that, in the worst cases, can cause a convicted individual to be incarcerated for decades or even life
  • Expensive fines that cost tens of thousands of dollars
  • Long-term court-ordered supervision in the form of probation or parole that, in the worst cases, can last a lifetime
  • Mandatory registration as a Colorado sex offender (with additional criminal charges and harsh penalties being associated with the failure to register)
  • Mandatory long-term treatment in the form of therapy

Contact Our Offices If You've Been Charged With Rape

Individuals accused of a crime have the right to their day in court, and working with an experienced defense attorney can make a significant difference in the outcome of the case. Those who have been charged with rape or with any felony or misdemeanor crime in Colorado are strongly encouraged to contact the discreet and skilled Denver sex crimes lawyers at FleschLaw for the strongest possible defense in their case. Call 720-689-0322 to schedule your free consultation.